Homemade Tortillas

This is my last week off before I start my new job! So I’ve been trying to do something fun and at least semi-productive (and usually from Pintrest) every day. When I saw my pin from a while ago about homemade tortillas I knew that I needed to try it. We’ve been grocery shopping on a budget for the past 2 months and I ran out of my budget about a week ago. We also ran out of tortillas about a week ago….unfortunate timing. With leftover Chipotle Pulled Pork still in the refridgerator we’ve been desperately wanting tortillas. (The pulled pork is just too spicy to eat without something bland on the side.) Here’s the original recipe for Tortilla Mix. The idea is that you make a huge batch of the mix and then just make the tortillas once you need them. (PS- she says it’s about $.25 per 10 tortillas!) I will admit that I wasn’t entirely sure this would work so I made 1/4 of her recommended recipe. However, it turned out great and I will probably make a full batch next time! As long as I can find a large enough jar to store it in….

My small batch made enough for 10 tortillas now and enough mix to store in a small container for about 10 later.

Ingredients

4 cups Flour

1/2 tbsp Baking Powder

1/2 tbsp Salt

1/4 cup Shortening (I used plain Crisco)

Directions for the Mix

1. Combine the dry ingredients then blend in the shortening with a pastry blender, your hands, or in my case a whisk.

2. If you just want the mix, go ahead and stop here. Store it in an airtight container.

Directions for Tortillas

1. Place 2 cups of dry mix into a medium sized bowl.

2. Add about 3/4 cup of warm water to the mix, stirring until you have a soft, sticky dough.

3. Put plastic wrap over the bowl and let the dough rest for about 15 minutes.

4. Preheat your pan over medium heat. You don’t need to grease the pan at all.

5. Pull off a golf ball sized piece of dough and roll it in flour. Using a rolling pin, roll out the dough until it’s very thin.

6. Transfer the dough (carefully) into the skillet and wait until it bubbles up. Flip the tortilla and cook on the other side for another 30 sec or so.

7. Continue to make tortillas with the remaining dough. Easy enough!

 

 

One thought on “Homemade Tortillas

  1. What a fun idea to make the dough stuff and just store it till you need to have tortillas! I’ve gotta say that in addition to your great writing, your picts are top notch! They look like ones that should be in a recipe book!! Im sad you have to go back to work soon because then you won’t have all these wonderful posts, but happy you have work… so I guess Ill just have to settle for a post a week! ps: I just signed up to get e-mails when you post, PERFECT!

Leave a Reply

