Fall is here and that means Pumpkin!

Although it’s still hot in the middle of September, I’m super excited for the arrival of fall! One of my favorite things to have in the fall is pumpkin, pretty much in any form, but especially in the form of a pumpkin spice latte. Since Starbucks isn’t exactly in our budget right now – and $5 is a lot to spend on a drink anyways – I’ve been having latte envy every time I see someone walk by me with a Starbucks cup. Needless to say, I was thrilled when I found a post on Pintrest for pumpkin spice syrup. Maybe I could make my own pumpkin spice lattes at home! The possibility was worth a trip to the store for some canned pumpkin and spices. Here’s the recipe I followed to make this syrup: Pumpkin Spice Syrup. Although I did change it a little to make it easier and less expensive…

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups water
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground ginger
2 tsp ground nutmeg
3 tbsp pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling)

Instructions

1. Dissolve sugar in water over medium heat in a large skillet, stirring frequently.

2. Add the rest of the ingredients and use a whisk to blend it all together. (Note: You can use more or less spice depending on your tastes. Also, the original recipe calls for cloves but they were a lot more expensive so I left them out.)

3. Simmer for about 5 min, continuing to stir frequently. Don’t let the mixture come to a bowl.

4. Remove from heat and allow the syrup to cool before putting it into a container (I used an old syrup container).

5. Store in the refrigerator. When you’re ready to make a latte add 1-2 tbsp to your drink. Make sure to stir well – the spices tend to sit at the bottom of the coffee mug.

The results were awesome! It made enough for the next few weeks worth of lattes for less than a few dollars. Plus, it’s really good! (I’ve already had two since I made it yesterday.) The only thing I’m not a huge fan of is the pool of spices that inevitably end up at the bottom of my mug. In the original recipe the author suggests straining the syrup through cheesecloth and I think that it would help my problem. I didn’t have cheesecloth so I eliminated that step. It isn’t terrible though and I would definitely make it this way again! Just watch your last sip or two.

 

4 thoughts on “Fall is here and that means Pumpkin!

    • Yay! Thanks for giving out the link! It must’ve worked because I had a whole 11 views today! =) I guess you were right, I do need to keep up my blog! Having a few days off this week definitely helped!

  1. I used a new pair of knee highs in place of the cheese cloth as I could not find any at the store to buy. Just wash the hosery, put the foot in a tall glass & pull the leg part tightly over the top and outside. It worked very well. I dumped the spices out & rinsed out the hosery to use for the next time. I bought a light color of hosery in hopes there were less dyes, when I hand washed them prior to use, no color ran out, so I took that as a plus!

Leave a Reply

