Pumpkin Butter Oatmeal

Once I made my pumpkin syrup I had almost an entire can of pumpkin left over. It didn’t take me long to find a recipe that looked like a great way to use up the rest! I’ve been experimenting with refrigerator oatmeal the past several weeks. Here’s my basic recipe that I’ve been using:

Ingredients

1/2 cup Old Fashioned Oats

1/2 cup Milk

Directions

1. The night before, put the oats and milk in a small container (I’ve been using a little mason jar) and shake well. You can add ingredients like brown sugar, cinnamon, etc. at this point.

2. Leave the jar in the refrigerator overnight and enjoy the next morning. You can add fruit, nuts, etc. at this point.

As you can see, it’s super flexible and it turns out really well. I found a great recipe for pumpkin butter and the author suggests adding it to a basic refrigerator oats recipe like the one I’ve been using.  I followed this recipe exactly, give or take a little bit of extra spice. It’s soo good and then you can just add a heaping spoonful to your oats the night before for pumpkin oatmeal. This will go great with my pumpkin spice latte! It made a lot, so I think I’ll be spreading it on toast too!

One thought on “Pumpkin Butter Oatmeal

  1. UPDATE: This is awesome! I’ve been warming it up once I get to work and it is the best. A good, filling breakfast to-go! I’ve had it almost every day since I made the pumpkin butter.

Leave a Reply

