Update: Homemade Laundry and Dishwasher Detergent

I thought I should update about the effectiveness of these two homemade products since I’ve been using them for about a month now. The laundry detergent works well! I like how I only need to use a little bit and still feel like my clothes are getting nice and clean. I would advise not using too much or else it leaves a white reside (that easily rubs off)  but still, only use about 1 1/2 tbsp for a large load, 1 tbsp for a smaller load. I’m not really sure if it would work well on tough stains since those a far and few between with just the two of us. I have a feeling it would work okay but not great. As far as the dishwasher detergent, I haven’t been impressed. Since we started using it, even with a vinegar rinse, there is a filmy residue that ends up on pretty much everything. It’s especially bad on our cups and plates. You can feel it and see it and makes everything look dirty even though I know it’s not. The only way I’ve found to combat this is to rinse the items that are really filmy in a vinegar solution (vinegar and a little bit of Dawn) by hand after they come out of the dishwasher. I have a feeling that I’ll be switching back to store bought detergent when this is gone, though that may be a while. I’ll update if I find anything else that seems to clear up this issue. I really want the homemade detergent to work,  but no luck so far…

2 thoughts on “Update: Homemade Laundry and Dishwasher Detergent

  1. I’m sorry about your detergent, I’ve found that even the cheap stuff I’ve been buying at the store is NOT working well either! I just this week switched to the dawn packs with rinse agents, and the dishes SPARKLE!! I guess that’s just one of those things that It might be worth splerging for But I found a coupon and buying the packets was the same cost of the big bottle! But I am running out of clothing detergent so I’ll have to try it out! Thanks for the update and for bring the guinea pig! ha ha

  2. I did end up buying Cascade this week and it’s soo much better! However, I’ve been sprinkling about a tbsp of the powered stuff into the sink when I hand wash and it works really well! I guess as long as I’m there to hand rinse at the end it’s okay! At least I can use it for something…

Leave a Reply

