Cranberry Apple Chicken Salad

This week I bought 2 packages of split chicken breasts. At first I was very intimidated by the thought of my chicken having skin and bones since I usually only buy boneless skinless chicken breasts; however, they were surprisingly easy to handle! And much cheaper! I put all 6 of the chicken breasts into my big crockpot and filled the crockpot halfway full of water. Add spices to taste. (I used salt, pepper, garlic salt, and onion powder). After cooking all day on low, take the chicken breasts out and easily pull of the skin and watch the chicken fall away from the bone. So easy! Then you can shred the chicken and it starts to look just like the stuff I usually buy only cheaper. I ended up freezing most of the shredded chicken (using some for shredded chicken tacos tonight) but I also threw some back into the crockpot for  super easy chicken noodle soup. Use the broth you already have and just add veggies! But with a little bit of the chicken I had chicken salad in mind. I love chicken salad but wanted to give it a fall makeover…

Ingredients

2 cups Shredded Chicken

1/2 cup Mayo or Miracle Whip

1/4 cup Milk

1 tbsp Lemon Juice

1 tsp Dill

1/2 tsp Garlic Salt

1/2 tsp Onion Powder

1/2 tsp Pepper

1/4 cup Fresh Cranberries (cut into fourths)

1/4 cup Fresh Apple (cut into little pieces)

2 pieces Celery (cut into little pieces)

Directions

Mix all ingredients in a large bowl until fully combined. If it’s too dry, add more mayo and milk. I recommend trying your salad to make sure you like the taste. I usually end up adding more spices. Add the salad to bread and a piece of lettuce. Sooo good! Especially with the fruit in it! (I brought this to work yesterday and got lots of comments on how good it looked.)

Leave a Reply

