Mint Chocolate Meltaways

I went to a cookie exchange at a good friend’s house this past weekend. I had been searching all over for a semi-festive cookie that everyone would really enjoy. I assumed that most everyone would be doing really holiday-ish cookies and I wanted to do something a little different. I ran across this recipe for a basic Melting Moments cookie and adapted it to have some Christmas flair but not too much. These are really good and have a very unique texture. Very light and not too sweet.

Mint Chocolate Meltaways

Cookie Ingredients

2 cups Softened Butter

2/3 cup Powdered Sugar

1 1/2 cup Cornstarch

2 cups Flour

PS – this is doubled from the original recipe to make about 3 dozen little cookies. These four ingredients really did make a cookie!

Cookie Directions

1. Blend all ingredients thoroughly. This took at least 5 minutes in my standing mixer. You will notice a difference in the texture of the dough when it’s ready, it looks smoother and softer. If you don’t mix it long enough it will have a very chalky cornstarch taste…I may have tried the dough at this point and that’s how I know. Bottom line, blend it up well!

2.  Chill at least 1 hour or in my case, overnight.

3. Form dough into small balls. The dough will be very stiff coming out of the refrigerator and it needs to stay cold and stiff in order to avoid spreading in the oven. Try not to handle them too much, use a spoon or something else round. Place them on a cool cookie sheet.

4. Warning – High Altitude Baking Directions – Bake at 375 degrees for about 10-12 minutes. The cookies should be barely brown on the bottom and still white on the top. If you aren’t at high altitude it’s better to bake at 350 for about 15 minutes.

5. When you remove the cookies from the oven let them cool on the cookie sheet completely. They are VERY fragile…I destroyed several cookies at this point because I hit them with my oven mitt. They had to be eaten…very unfortunate. Once they are cool they are still very fragile but then you can move them to a plate or other container. I had one literally dissolve in my hand while I was eating it so watch out.

Ingredients for Mint Chocolate Drizzle

2 tbsp ButterMint Chocolate Meltaways

1 1/2 cups Powdered Sugar

1 tsp Peppermint Extract

2 tbsp Cocoa Powder

1/4 cup Melted Chocolate Chips

Enough milk to make a pretty thin frosting

Directions for Mint Chocolate Drizzle

1. Blend all ingredients together, adding enough milk to make a fairly thin frosting…remember you have to drizzle this over the cookies.

2. Use a pipping bag or a plastic bag with a little hole in the tip to drizzle the chocolate frosting over each cookie. The frosting will dry pretty quickly so decorate fast!

These were a huge hit at the cookie exchange! I only ended up taking a few home with me, which is a good sign. To make the day even more fun, I had a surprise waiting for me when I got home. Gavin has occasional times when he decides to cook something amazing – lately it has been a progressively better version of BBQ Chicken Pizza. This one had french fries he fried himself and a homemade stuffed crust! It was soooo good! I need to get his recipe and put it up here.

BBQ Chicken Pizza

Leave a Reply

